Guidance & Counseling Board Exam Tips


I took two board examinations in my life, one for Psychometrician last 2014 (first board exam for Psychometrician in the Philippines), and the second one was last 2018 for the Guidance and Counseling in which I place 10th.

A couple of students have asked me on how to topped or passed the board exam

  1. Read a lot. I make it to a point to reward myself after finishing a book. I had a lot more time to study during my Psychometrician board exam, because basically that’s all I did for the 2-3 months review.
    But reviewing for the Guidance and Counseling board exam was a challenge because I am employed so I had to read after my work, although I always try to apply the theories in my work to strengthen my memory of it.

    (All week I am into Reality Therapy then the next week I am into Cognitive Behavioral theory and so on)

  2. Manage your time well.  There are only 4 subjects for Psychometrician while 6 for Guidance and Counseling. I divided the number of months I have per subject.
    I remember sacrificing my psychometrician mock board exam in the review center because I did not study for the mock board exam but I continued with my timeline instead. I had to study each subject for two weeks, and aimed to finish reading everything at least a month before the board exam.

    For my Guidance and Counseling board exam because there are 6 subjects, I started reading a year before the board examination while I was studying for the comprehensive examination for graduate school.

  3. Take notes. I take notes while reading, I post things on my wall, and a month before the board examination I just have to review my notes. I use different colour of pens so my notes are really colorful, so that I can associate my memory with the color (hopeful).
  4. Watch videos and lectures online. Sometimes I get so busy with my work and I just want to rest after work, so I just watch videos in youtube till I fall asleep. When I’m travelling I convert videos to audio format and listen to it while travelling or out of town.
  5. Find a motivation, a good one. I have very weird motivations. For my first board examination, it motivated me thinking that my parents spent too much for my review, I was afraid of failing the people whom knew that I will be taking the board exam.So in my Guidance and Counseling board exam, I did not tell my friends that I will be taking the examination, so that I’ll feel less pressured.

    I wanted to do it for myself, for my career growth, for my parents who were always supportive of me, for my boyfriend then (fiancé now) and his family.

  6. Keep yourself away from toxic environment. 2018- there were a lot of movements in our family. My brother married and was living with my sister-in-law in our home, my mother was adjusting in her retirement, and both my parents had started doing business in a cafeteria after retirement. There were a lot of concerns with everyone’s adjustments, and I have always been the mediator in the family, so even if I was working away and was living in an apartment in the city they would call and consult me from time to time, and they would request for me to go home to settle arguments that they are having at home to a point that I had decided not to go home for a month and ask them politely not to call me or tell me any problems that they are having. I told asked them to call my older brother or my younger sister instead.Ps. Everything is all good now, my parents are now building a new bahay kubo in the mountain, and started gardening.

  7. Borrow & share ideas, & notes. I borrowed notes from those who took the board exam ahead of me & I shared notes to others who will be taking the board exam with me as well.
  8. Pray. Studying will give you confidence somehow and will prepare you for the examination but prayers will enlighten you. I always pray that I will remember what I am studying at the right time, and that it would come out at the board exam.

 

#1 Suggested reading:
Encyclopaedia of Counseling (Rosenthal)

Write your email in the comment section so I can email you some of the materials I used as well.Notebook Paper Facebook Post

76 thoughts on “Guidance & Counseling Board Exam Tips

  1. Hi, Ms. Jeanryl! I hope you can share with me the materials you used during your RGC board exam for I am planning to take it next year. Please and thank you so much! God bless!

    1. Good evening po, Ma’am Jeanryl. Planning to take the board exam for GC next year In Shaa-Allah.
      Hoping to share your review materials you used during your RGC journey po.

      hassanarobe@gmail.com

      Thanks so much, and Allah bless you always.

    2. Hello Ms. Jeanryl. 😊 I hope you can share your materials with me too. 😊 Thank you, and God bless.

    1. Hello! Can’t access my laptop at the moment. Can I send it in messenger instead? I can just forward materials that I also sent to my friends through messenger.

  2. Hi I am taking also this aug 17 and 18. I am so worried I hope you can help me and send something to read that will add to my knowledge and was useful to you during your review. Your blog was so helpful thanks for the tips! gonzaleslishel@gmail.com

      1. Hi Ma’am Jeanryl ,planning to take RGC nextyear,can i ask po kung pwede pa share ng review materials na ginamit nio nun nag rereview kau..Salamat

  3. Hello Ms. Thank you for this. I’m taking up MA GC and want to refresh my mind every chance I get about topics discussed. Hoping to get some blessings of materials you’ve read po. Thank you so much in advance po (zarinaalexa@gmail.com)

  4. Hi Ms. Jeanryl! I will be taking the board exam also for GC on August. Which center did you enroll in for review or did? Do you have any review materials that you can perhaps share? Thank you so much!

    1. Hello Ms. Jeanryl. 😊 Thank you for your generosity. May I have some of your review materials? God bless.

  5. Hi Ms. Jeanryl!
    I’m planning to take the board exam for Guidance Counselor. I hope you could share your review notes. Thanks a lot. All the best!

    (khatri30raveena@gmail.com)

  6. Hi Ms. Jeanryl, I am planning to take the board examination for GC too. May I have a copy of your review materials po. Thank you and God bless! (trhixieannematias@gmail.com)

  7. Hi po! I am planning to take the RGC board examination. But just like you did, I wanted to take a longer time reviewing for it. Can you share your review materials po? My email add is candidenigma@gmail.com . Thank you so much in advance. God bless you!

      1. Good pm mam,pwede din po pa share ng review materials nio nun nagtake kayo,planning po magtake RGC nextyear

      2. Good day po. I am planning to take the board exams for RGC as well. I wish to study ahead of time. Can I ask a copy of your review materials or at least a list of books you suggest I read? here is my email po: pcxmaquidato@gmail.com

  8. Hi po, Ms. Jeanryl! I am planning to take the RGC board examination. But planning po mag self-study, I hope you can help me po and share your review materials po? My email add is santosjoanah7@gmail.com. Thank you so much in advance. God bless you!

  9. hello po. Planning also to take RGC boar examination. I was inspired and motivated with your tips mam. Hopefully you can share also your review materials. Thank you in advance mam.
    jhonamaemae@gmail.com

  10. Hello ma’am, i really admire you po. Planning to take a board exam for guidance and counseling. Hoping to have a copy of your materials, it will be a huge help for me.

    Thank you so much!

    Here’s my email:

  11. Hello po mam Jeanryl. Planning to take the GC board exam…much appreciated if you can share your materials with me. thank you.

  12. Thank you so much Ma’am Jeanryl for sharing all that. I am a 3rd Year Psych student and I also want to become an RPM and RGC real soon. All your copies would be of big help to me in my licensure journey. I would all appreciate all materials that you would share which would help me in my review process. Thank you very much and Congrats in all your achievements!

    jomaevelez@gmail.com

  13. Hello, ma’am! Thank you so much for the tips and motivation. This is a big help for me as an aspirant. I hope that I can have a copy of your review materials as well. Thank you so much in advance and God bless, Ma’am.

    Here is my email: almirajairadepaula@gmail.com

  14. Hello Mam Jeanryl, I hope to receive copies of your recommended materials for me to study.

    elidiakria.apolinar@gmailcom here’s my email po. ✨

  15. Hi Ma’am Camille, just read your blog and I’m planning to take the RGC board exam soon. I hope you could also send me a copy of the materials you used during your review. Thank you in advance!

  16. Good day Ma’am Jeanryl,

    Thank you for sharing with us some tips on how to ace the board exam. May I also ask for the materials that you’ve used during your review? I’m planning to take the board exam soon. Thank you and God Bless!

    Here’s my email address: jowelagarto10@gmail.com

  17. Good day Ma’am Jeanryl,

    Thank you for sharing with us some tips on how to ace the board exam. May I also ask for the materials that you’ve used during your review? I’m planning to take the board exam soon. Thank you and God Bless!

    Here’s my email address: jowelagarto10@gmail.com

  18. hello po. Planning also to take RGC boar examination. I was inspired and motivated with your tips mam. Hopefully you can share also your review materials. Thank you in advance mam.

    jhonamaemae@gmail.com

Leave a comment