Old Photograph


I was looking for a certain book at home & ended up cleaning the house, & I saw this self-timed photograph  of my parents taken last May 5, 1990.

may 5 1990.jpg

My parents will be married for 30 years next year.

present.jpg

 During my college graduation party, 2014

The other night I was sitting beside my mother, & I notice how thin her legs had become. I asked her if she’s feeling alright and she told me perhaps she’s getting thinner as part of growing old.

I can still remember how my parents looked during the 90’s, how my father would always comb his hair and how my mother was so proud for not having any white hairs.

People who knew my family would not believe me if I’ll tell them my parents used to argue. People would always look up to my parents as an ideal couple, yes they indeed are but they too had their difficult times.

We weren’t the traditional family, my father was a househusband, he cooks, do the laundry, and clean the house while my mother aside from being the breadwinner of the family was working as a Police Officer.

It might have been difficult for my father as a man to be doing the household chores, and it might have been so stressful for my mother working almost 7 days a week.

For my mother to be promoted she had to do work related schooling and training for a couple of months together with other police officers away from our place.

I can remember how my parents would argue when we were younger, how my mother would yell & how my father would keep silent, and at times I can remember crying together with my sister, and pretended that everything will be alright the next day.

They too aren’t just perfect, but they had to work so hard to keep their relationship from falling. They too had their own difficulties.

They are no perfect couple, but they did their best to keep their love and to overcome all hardships.

Just when I thought everything was so perfect another stage of our life came, when my mother retired came another series of arguments with another major change and adjustment in our lives.

One day, I saw one family friend of mine and she told me how my parents are so sweet and are always seen together, and that she had always wondered if my parents also has disagreements at times because she just can’t imagine them arguing. Then later in our conversation, she told me she had not seen my mother in a week and my father told her my mother was sick, which I just nodded in agreement, but I know my mother was not just sick, they have been on nonspeaking terms for a week.

I thought it was the end, but they were able to overcome it still.

Right now they had decided to live in the rural area, doing gardening, and taking care of our dogs.

They are still inseparable, sweet, at their age.

It was no perfect relationship and I have witnessed it all, but I too would love the same love story. A love story of growing together, understanding, & patience.

Leave a comment